The story behind Alliance Jiu Jitsu

One alliance - hand in hand


Fabio was born in Rio de Janeiro in 1970 and started his career in Jiu Jitsu at the age of 13. At 16, after winning several blue and purple belt titles, he became an instructor at the Jacaré Jiu Jitsu Academy. At the age of 19, he received his black belt - Master Romero Jacaré's first black belt. In 1993, he was one of the founders of the ALLIANCE team alongside Alexandre Paiva and Master Romero Jacaré.


Born in 1952, Jacaré started his BJJ training at the age of 11. At 16, he joined the famous Gracie school in Copacabana, where he grew up. Jacaré and the Gracies lived in the same neighbourhood, so he got to know them all. He trained BJJ with Carlos Gracie Jr, Gracie Crolin, Santos Fabio, Mauricio Gomes, Machados, Rickson Gracie and many others.


Alexandre Paiva started training Jiu-Jitsu with Professor Jacaré in Ipanema in 1983, training an average of 8 hours a day. He started to stand out among the students and competed already as a blue belt. In 1991, he received his black belt from Jacaré and began a new phase in his career. He became a teacher at the Jacaré Academy as well as at the Ipanema Team 1 Academy and the Federal Club, Strike Academy.

The history of our association

In the 1980s, Master Romero Cavalcanti (Jacaré) and his two black belt students Fabio Gurgel (General) and Alexandre Paiva (Gigi) went different ways in search of success in their own academies. However, they competed against each other in all the championships they encountered, creating an unfair rivalry because of their backgrounds. Therefore, in 1993, the three decided to form an alliance, "ALLIANCE", to go hand in hand in all championships.

In 2014, seeing that each of their academies was expanding and creating their own subsidiaries, they decided to form an association to unify the teaching method and implement the management skills that were making great progress in the hands of Fabio Gurgel.

Today, the ALLIANCE team has more than 300 affiliates around the world, with a recognised methodology and a 12-time world champion title that shows the strength, dedication and unity of this team. Key champions include:

Sergio Moraes - Bruno Malfacine - Cobrinha - Leonardo Leite - Leo Nogueira - Tarsis Humphreys - Bernardo Faria - Michael Langhi - Marcelinho Garcia - Lucas Lepri - Isaque Bahiense - Daniela Genovesi - Nicholas Meregali - Gabi Garcia - Monique Elias - Fernando Terere - Andresa Correa.

You too can be part of this story.


Cookie settings

We are continuously improving our website and we use cookies for this purpose. For an optimal user experience, we recommend that you accept them. Otherwise, parts of the page will be deactivated in the display in accordance with data protection regulations.